The student selected receives a $2,000 award from the Institute and is presented with a certificate from high-ranking USDOT officials at a ceremony held in conjunction with the TRB Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., each January. The Institute also reimburses the student for his/her travel to the ceremony and TRB Annual Meeting.

Selection is based on accomplishment in three areas: technical merit and research, academic performance, and professionalism and leadership (e.g., presentations, student professional activities).

2018 Recipient

Frank Alarcon

The recipient of the 2018 award for the Roadway Safety Institute is Frank Alarcon (pictured, right, with Frank Douma). Advised by Frank Douma, Alarcon is working toward a master’s degree in urban and regional planning at the University of Minnesota's Humphrey School of Public Affairs.

Past Winners

  • William Barbour, civil engineering (Advisor: Daniel Work)
  • Brendan Murphy, civil engineering (Advisor: David Levinson)