Outstanding Student of the Year

Each year, the Institute selects one graduate student for the Outstanding Student of the Year Award, which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology.

Selection is based on accomplishment in three areas: technical merit and research, academic performance, and professionalism and leadership.

TRB Travel Awards

As a part of an effort to support students in transportation, the Roadway Safety Institute and the Center for Transportation Studies at the University of Minnesota provide funding for selected students to attend the national Transportation Research Board (TRB) annual meeting in Washington, D.C., held in January of each year.

Students selected will each receive up to $1,000 for conference expenses, including travel. Upon completion of the conference, students are required to submit brief summaries of sessions they attended.