The Institute conducts activities that further the mission of the UTC program of the USDOT—to advance U.S. technology and expertise in the many disciplines that make up transportation through education, research, and technology transfer activities at university-based centers of excellence. Driven by the goal of preventing crashes to reduce fatalities and life-changing injuries, the Institute's activities focus on user-centered transportation safety systems.

The consortium is led by the University of Minnesota. Other members are the University of Akron, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and Western Michigan University.

Map of region 5

The Roadway Safety Institute is working to reduce crashes and save lives on our nation’s roadways—and has created a video highlighting these efforts.